A good thing

This is what Google Images gave me when I searched for Elpenor. I think it's actually meant to be Alexander. In any case, kind of hot, right?
This is what Google Images gave me when I searched for Elpenor. I think it’s actually meant to be Alexander the Great. In any case, kind of hot, right?

I’m not sure how this fits in with the theme of my last few posts, but it’s been on my mind, so I’ll put it down.

I have worked with a girl at Homework Hub a few times. She’s one of the older kids (grade 7 and up). I don’t know her name; I should introduce myself next week if I see her, before it gets too the point where it’s too awkward. She seems bright, and she’s a hard worker.

I was helping her with some questions about Homer’s Odyssey the other day. We read the chapter where Elpenor fell off the roof and died, just before Odysseus traveled to the land of the dead. When he got there, Elpenor was hanging out by the river Styx, all, “Wassup?” The question was, “How did Elpenor make it to the land of the dead before Odysseus?”

So the girl looked confused, and I said, “Well, what happened at the end of the previous chapter?”

She looked it up in the book and said, “He died. Oh!” And she laughed a little. Like, a real laugh, by a thoroughly 21st century kid, over some crazy ancient Greek story.

Leave a Reply

