I am tired

Also, tired of being admired.
Also, tired of being admired.

…of wondering if every male potential client who calls me is a potential creepy dude. Maybe I should have thought things through before I started massage school, but I really didn’t realize I would be accused of/mistaken for/butt of jokes about being a prostitute.

I had a creepy guy come in last May. And let me tell you something: I don’t use the word “creepy” lightly. (I normally dislike the word, since it’s imprecise and, I think, often used to marginalize harmlessly odd people.) This guy was just…strange. And he wanted a lot of groin area work. He stormed out before the session started. Why? He REALLY objected to using a face cradle when face-down, and I was just getting the vibe that he wanted to boss the situation. I’ll work with people, but you have to acknowledge that I have a skill set and respect that.

I think I’ve always been cautious about this sort of thing, but I feel like I have way less tolerance now, or less willingness to give the benefit of the doubt. Meeting new people isn’t my strong suit anyway, and having to on guard against that sort of thing is an added stress I don’t want to deal with.

Sorry to be so whiny. I’ll post about volunteering soon. It’s going great.

Leave a Reply

