Loss

Rest in peace.
One of my happiest memories of her is her wedding day.

This is more of a personal note than a post about my career change, but it’s all I can think about today. My dear friend Laura passed away last night after a long struggle with Stage 4 kidney cancer. She was 38 years old.

Laura was, among many other things, a Montessori teacher. She didn’t study teaching when we were at UW together, but it seemed to be such a great fit for her. She loved kids, learning new things, science…I mean, of COURSE she became a teacher. And her students seemed to love her.

I am sure that seeing Laura’s joy in her students and her profession planted a seed in me to become a teacher, although it took several years to sprout. Laura’s emotions were always near the surface, and if she felt strongly about something, her feelings were often infectious. I remember just listening to her talk about her students, her frustrations and concerns, and her many and obvious joys.

We all knew this was coming for at least 18 months. I felt like I made my peace and said goodbye a while ago. I had a lovely lunch with her and her family in La Crosse, and I remember thinking, “This might be the last time I see her. It’s sad, but I’m glad I got to have this chance.” But I’m still feeling a loss.

I’m not very happy with this post because I feel like it’s too much about me and my dumb feelings. But right now, that’s what I’m dealing with. She was lucky to have a husband and family who loved her dearly, and their loss is far greater. They are in my thoughts now and always.

One thought on “Loss

Leave a Reply

